Baker River Club House Visitors Center - Visit Skagit Valley - North Cascades National Park to Farmlands to Salish Sea

Baker River Club House Visitors Center

Puget Sound Energy’s Baker River Hydroelectric Project in Concrete, WA, has recently renovated a historical site creating the Baker River Clubhouse Visitors Center. The Clubhouse is now open on Wednesday through Sunday from 10 a.m. to 5 p.m. throughout the summer, closing on September 30th.

baker_river_club_house_visitors_center_2The renovated Clubhouse’s exhibits feature the evolution of the site and its history within the PSE region; visitors are invited to explore the structure and its stories. The site was originally used by the Washington Portland Cement Company, dating back to 1914, and was made with local materials. When predecessor company Puget Sound Power & Light purchased the property in 1924, the building was repurposed into the Baker Clubhouse.

Baker River Club House

Industrial archeological site loop trail

The Club House now offers a gateway to access the unique recreational opportunities the Baker River Project offers. The historical site includes interpretation elements such as exhibits and signs. In addition, the exterior spaces include trails through an industrial archaeological site, bathrooms, picnic tables, and a meadow containing Pacific Northwest plants.

About three miles up the road from the Club House are the Lake Shannon Boat ramp and a new day-use park that took about nine months to complete. The new park offers guests a large picnic shelter with picnic tables, three barbecue grills, and six small picnic sites with tables. Five of those picnic sites have barbecue grills. PSE also installed around a quarter of a mile of sidewalks and trails featuring native restoration landscaping. The day-use park will be open from 7 a.m. to 9 p.m. daily from now through Oct. 31. It will be closed to drive-in traffic from Nov. 1 through April 14 annually.

The Kulshan Campground, located on the premises of Upper Baker Dam, re-opened to the public on June 10 after being closed since 2020 due to the pandemic.

The renovation project and new park were all part of PSE’s Federal Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC) License agreement to create a better area for visitors. The 50-year operating license was issued to PSE in October 2008.

Baker River Clubhouse Visitors Center
46274 East Main St
Concrete, WA